FSEconomy World Tour 33: KMJX-KWAL

There weren’t that many things available for flight from Miller that were going in the direction I was looking for (south-west-ish). In the end I settled on a 131nm hop to Wallops Flight Facility which for me as an aerospace engineer is a familiar place even though I’ve never been there. I must admit my eye was drawn to the airport code since it translates to jellyfish in Dutch. I filed a flight plan that would take me by way of Atlantic City since I was there just a couple of weeks ago IRL. Weather at Miller is cloudy, with steady wind from the west at 12knots and 19C. Weather at Wallops is clear, with just a bit of wind from the west-south-west and 21C.

KMJX-KWAL

Departure from Miller. Still amazed about the number of GA aircraft here

KMJX-KWAL

About to pass Atlantic City International airport where I just spent a couple of days in meetings

KMJX-KWAL

Turned east towards the city, flying along that stupid toll road for which I am always saving every quarter when I am in the city

KMJX-KWAL

I was surprised to see that airport down there, since I have been in the city a couple of times now, but never noticed any aircraft taking off or landing. Never knew it was there. Turns out it is Bader Field, which was closed in 2006

KMJX-KWAL

Looking to the right I saw a huge cooling tower, which apparently belongs to the B.L. England Generating Station

KMJX-KWAL

Flying further south along the coast

KMJX-KWAL

Approaching Wallops

KMJX-KWAL

On final

KMJX-KWAL

And parked at this eerily silent airport

I wasn’t able to locate custom scenery for Wallops so I had to make do with the basic FSX scenery, which probably explains the eerie silence. Lost about $1000 on this flight.

Screenshot 2015-10-14 22.36.47

One thought on “FSEconomy World Tour 33: KMJX-KWAL

  1. Pingback: FSEconomy World Tour 34: KWAL-KRIC | Random Stuff

Leave a Reply

